The Hindu Council of Australia

The Hindu Council of Australia is an umbrella organisation for the purpose of bringing together various Hindu Associations and resound a unified voice for all Australian Hindus, living in the multicultural community of Australia, irrespective of their caste or country of origin. The Hindu Council aims to have the responsibility to act as the representative of the Australian Hindu community in dealings with the federal, state and local governments, as well as other organisations and institutions. The Hindu Council acts to assist and promote the activities of its member organisations, but it does not exercise control over the internal matters of any of its member organisations.

hindu council

Deepavali fair festival of lights

The Indian Festival of Lights, is the most widely celebrated festival of the people from the Indian sub-continent and across the whole world. Deepavali means rows of lights, it is the festival symbolising victory of good over evil, light over darkness, and knowledge over ignorance. Though there are many mythological explanations to this wonderful festival, however, in the current world what the festival of lights really stands for is a reaffirmation of hope, a renewed commitment to friend ship, religious tolerance, spreading the word of peace and harmony and above all, celebration of “simple joys of life”.

hindu council

The Hindu Council of Australia, a national body representing all Australian Hindus (over 300,000), has been celebrating this festival of lights for the past 15 years on a large scale. Last year more than 20,000 people attended the whole day of festivities at the Sydney Olympic Park.

This is the biggest gathering of people of Indian origin. Lots of people of multi-ethnic background also come to share the richness of the Indian culture and the variety of sumptuous food items. One of the attractions of the Deepavali fair is the burning of the effigy of the Demon King Ravana followed by Fireworks display. The program will finish around 10:00 pm with a fantastic display of fireworks.

Executive Committee

  • Chairman
    Prof. Nihal Agar
  • Vice Chairman
    Prof. Raja Jayaraman, Mr. Kanti Jinna
  • Treasurer
    Mr. Bhagwat Chauhan
  • Secretary
    Mr. Sanjeev Bhakri
  • Media & Communications
    Dr. Astha Singh
  • Directors
    Prof. Nihal Agar, Mr. Surinder Jain, Mr. Abhay Awasthi, Mr. Prakash Mehta, Dr. Balasubramaniam, Mr. Sanjeev Bhakri, Mr. Bhagwat Chauhan, Mr. Surendra Prasad, Mr. Vijai Singhal and Mr. Ashwini Sharma
  • Executive Members
    Mrs. Anita Bachan Sharma, Mr. Jayraman, Mr. Vijaykumar Halagali, Mr. Sajana Nand, Mr. Bhupinder Chhabra, Mr. Balesh Singh dhankhar and Dr. Astha Singh